Giving and Volunteerism
child looking at green goop at home

Science at Home

3M is committed to helping teachers and students as they adapt to a new way of learning due to the COVID-19 pandemic

SEE THE EXPERIMENTS
  • 3M scientists are playing their part to support children everywhere with e-learning content intro video

    STEM education is critical to the future of science

    A lack of access to education and training are among the biggest threats to the future of innovation.  

    As of April 2020, more than 124,000 schools and 55 million students across the U.S. and more than 1 billion around the world are studying from home due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Because we believe the next generation of innovators is so important, 3M scientists are playing their part to support children everywhere with e-learning content. 

  • experiments at home: heart inside house icon

    3M’s Science at Home program provides fun and educational science experiments for students ages 6-12.

    These simple, at-home experiments conducted by 3M scientists use common household items and are designed to reinforce core scientific principles. School systems, educators, parents, and caregivers are encouraged to use this educational content in virtual classrooms and at home.

    3M will post new experiments, featuring 3M scientists and some special guests along the way.  Be sure to check back weekly for new content to try at home. 


  • Science Experiments for Kids at Home

    Watch more science experiments designed, and tailored, for kids at home using commonly available items from around your place of living. Each experiment includes information on how to include them in your distance learning curriculum.

  • How do our lungs work? Follow along as special guest Dakota Dozier, an offensive lineman for the Minnesota Vikings, makes a model to show how air flows in and out of the lungs with ease.

  • A jetliner can weigh over 300 tons, so why doesn’t it just drop out of the air? 3M’s SVP of Corporate Affairs, Denise Rutherford explains the Bernoulli principle and how without it, planes (and birds) couldn’t fly.

  • Ever wonder why things mix (or don’t mix) differently in different temperatures of water? Join Camille Schrier, a scientist who was crowned Miss America 2020, as she explains diffusion and how substances move though water.

  • Follow along with 3M’s Chief Science Advocate, Jayshree Seth, as she teaches students how chemistry can help put some air where it’s most needed!

  • Your teacher might not love when you have one in class, but the physics behind fidget spinners are truly head-spinning! Join 3M scientist Tesha R.-Alston Dampier as she shows you how a spinning motion changes the way things move.


Close  
  • All fields are required unless indicated optional

  •  
  • 3M takes your privacy seriously. 3M and its authorized third parties will use the information you provided in accordance with our Privacy Policy to send you communications which may include promotions, product information and service offers. Please be aware that this information may be stored on a server located in the U.S. If you do not consent to this use of your personal information, please do not use this system.

  • Submit

Thank you for subscribing to 3M Science at Home

Your form was submitted successfully!

Our Apologies...

An error has occurred while submitting. Please try again later...

Giving Back

  • 3M has a long history of supporting STEM and quality education programming.  We have specific goals to advance equitable outcomes in STEM and Skilled Trades for underrepresented and under-resourced students.

    Learn more about 3M’s educational giving and partner organizations here.
     


OTHER 3M SITES:
3M eStore - HKTVmall
Follow Us
Change Location
Hong Kong - English

捐贈與義工精神
child looking at green goop at home

科學@家

3M致力協助老師和學生因COVID-19 疫症而需要適應全新的教學方法。

觀看實驗
  • 3M scientists are playing their part to support children everywhere with e-learning content intro video

    STEM教育對科學的未來發展至為關鍵

    人們若無法接受教育和訓練,將會對未來的創新發展構成極大威脅。

    截至2020年4月,美國超過124,000家學校和5,500萬學生、以及全球約10億人因COVID-19疫症而要在家學習。我們相信,培養下一代的發明家是非常重要的,因此,3M科學家參與製作網上學習內容,支援世界各地的學童。

  • experiments at home: heart inside house icon

    3M「科學@家」特別為6至12歲學童設計有趣又具教育意義的科學實驗。

    這些由3M科學家主持的簡單實驗,可以在家裡進行,材料都是常見的家居用品,而且有助加強學童對核心科學原理的理解。我們歡迎學校、教育工作者、家長或監護人在家裡或在虛擬教室中使用這些教材。

    3M將會上載更多全新的實驗,並由3M科學家或特別嘉賓主持。請每週到訪,並在家裡試做新實驗。


  • 為學童設計的家居科學實驗

    觀看更多專為學童度身訂造的科學實驗,只需利用日常生活裡常見的物品,就可以在家裡進行。每個實驗都包含詳細資訊,方便您把它們融入遙距課程之內。

  • 我們的肺部是如何運作的呢?試跟着特別嘉賓美式足球隊Minnesota Vikings的進攻組員Dakota Dozier動手製作模型,看看空氣怎樣輕易進出肺部。

  • 為甚麼重量超過300噸的飛機不會從空中掉下來呢? 3M企業傳訊SVP Denise Rutherford為大家解釋白努利原理、以及為甚麼沒有這定律,飛機 (甚至雀鳥) 都無法飛行。

  • 為甚麼在不同温度的水裡,東西會以不同的方式混和(或者不混和)呢? 獲選為2020年度美國小姐的科學家Camille Schrier,為您解釋擴散作用、以及物質怎樣在水裡移動。

  • 3M首席科學倡議專員 Jayshree Seth 教您如何利用化學為汽球充氣。


Close  
  • All fields are required unless indicated optional

  •  
  • 3M takes your privacy seriously. 3M and its authorized third parties will use the information you provided in accordance with our Privacy Policy to send you communications which may include promotions, product information and service offers. Please be aware that this information may be stored on a server located in the U.S. If you do not consent to this use of your personal information, please do not use this system.

  • Submit

Thank you for subscribing to 3M Science at Home

Your form was submitted successfully!

Our Apologies...

An error has occurred while submitting. Please try again later...

捐助社群

  • 3M支持STEM及優質教育課程已有悠久歷史。我們訂立特定目標,提升弱勢和資源匱乏的學生在STEM和技術行業的成果,促進社會公平。

    瀏覽3M教育捐助和夥伴組織詳情