Giving and Volunteerism
3M Science at Home: Camille Schrier, a scientist who was crowned Miss America 2020, as she explains diffusion and how substances move though water

Diffusion with Miss America 2020

What conditions affect the diffusion of a substance in water?

Key Concepts

  • diffusion icon
    Diffusion
  • temperature and molecules icon
    Temperature and Molecules

     


  • Introduction

    Have you ever colored a picture with marker and noticed that two touching colors begin to bleed together? In class, do you typically sit evenly spaced or all scrunched together? Although one of these refers to chemical properties and the latter social interaction, both are examples or diffusion.

  • Background

    Diffusion is the mixing of substances due to the movement of their particles. This can occur with all sorts of matter, but is most commonly observed in liquids and gases. Typically, diffusion refers to the movement of molecules from high concentrations to lower concentrations. The rate of this movement depends on the energy of the molecules. Think of how delicious smells from your kitchen take longer to get into your bedroom than to your living room which is located right beside the kitchen. That is because the molecules from the food odor haven’t diffused into that space yet. In this experiment, you will experience how temperature affects the mixing of food coloring drops with water.

  • Preparation

    1. Fill one glass half full of the coldest water you can get from the tap
    2. Fill the other glass the same amount with the hottest water you can get from the tap
  • Procedure

    1. Make a prediction. What might be different about the way the food coloring moves through the cold water and the hot water?
    2. At the exact same time, add 2-3 drops off food coloring into each glass. Do not mix or stir.
    3. Watch what happens to the food coloring. Does it move differently in the hot water than the cold water?
  • Observation and Result

    The food coloring mixes through the hot water faster than it mixes with the cold water. This is because in hot water, the water molecules have more energy and are moving faster than the molecules of cold water. This makes it easier for the dye to get mixed throughout the hot water. Because diffusion happens from high concentration to low concentration, the more molecules are moving, the more opportunities they have to mix together. The high energy hot water model diffusion is important because it’s how we get oxygen to all the cells in our bodies. When deoxygenated blood is in your capillaries in your lungs, the oxygen in your lungs diffuses from a higher concentration in your lungs to the lower concentration in your blood. This allows red blood cells to carry oxygen all over your body.
  • Clean Up

    Be sure to clean up when you are done. Wipe up any spills that may have happened. Pour all of the water down the sink, and wash out the glasses. Put the food coloring back where you found it.
  • More to Explore

    In this experiment, the food coloring that gets added is the same temperature in each of the hot and cold water tests. Do you think the temperature of the food coloring might have an effect on how it diffuses? Can you find a safe way to heat or cool the food coloring before adding it to the water? Can you predict, based on the first way of doing the experiment, what might change, if anything?

    Also, think about where you see this happen in other places. For example, how might this play into why coffee and tea always start with hot water? If you find an example of where hot or cold water is used for something that might involve diffusion, see if you can try it with the opposite and observe any differences in the results. 

  • Safety First & Adult Supervision

    • Follow the experiment’s instructions carefully.
    • A responsible adult should assist with each experiment.
    • While science experiments at home are exciting ways to learn about science hands-on, please note that some may require participants to take extra safety precautions and/or make a mess.
    • Adults should handle or assist with potentially harmful materials or sharp objects.
    • Adult should review each experiment and determine what the appropriate age is for the student’s participation in each activity before conducting any experiment.
OTHER 3M SITES:
3M eStore - HKTVmall
Follow Us
Change Location
Hong Kong - English

捐贈與義工精神
3M Science at Home: Camille Schrier, a scientist who was crowned Miss America 2020, as she explains diffusion and how substances move though water

擴散作用

甚麼條件會影響水中物質的擴散呢?

核心概念

  • diffusion icon
    擴散作用
  • temperature and molecules icon
    温度與份子

     


  • 簡介

    您用顏色水筆在圖畫上填色時,有沒有發現當兩種顏色相遇會互相滲透呢?在課堂裡,您們通常會平均地分散坐在不同地方,抑或會全部擠在一起呢?雖然前者關乎化學特性,後者則屬社交互動,但其實都是擴散作用的例子。

  • 背景

    擴散是因為物質粒子運動,令物質混和一起。擴散可以發生在任何物質,但在液體和氣體裡發生的,最常被察覺得到。擴散通常指份子由高濃度移動至低濃度的地方。而運動的速度就視乎份子的能量而定。試想想,比起在睡房,您會更快在廚房旁邊的客廳嗅到廚房美味的香氣,因為食物香味的分子需要較長時間才擴散到睡房的空間裡去。您會在這個實驗中認識溫度如何影響食用色素與水的混合。

  • 預備

    1. 把最冷的自來水注入一個玻璃樽內,半滿即可
    2. 另一個玻璃樽則注入最熱的自來水,份量同樣是一半
  • 步驟

    1. 試猜猜:食用色素在冷水和熱水裡的移動會有甚麼不同呢?
    2. 同時間把2至3滴食用色素放進兩樽水裡去,不要搞動或混和。
    3. 看看食用色素怎樣了,它在熱水中的移動,跟在冷水裡有分別嗎?
  • 觀察與結果

    食用色素在熱水中的混合比在冷水中要快,因為熱水裡的水分子比冷水裡的水分子擁更多能量,所以運動得更快,也令染料更容易在熱水中混合。由於擴散是從高濃度移向低濃度的,所以分子運動越多,它們混合在一起的機會就越大。高能量熱水的擴散模式非常重要,因為這是我們如何把氧氣輸送到體內所有細胞的方法。當肺部的毛細血管-> 微絲血管中有脫氧的血液時,肺部的氧氣就會從肺裡面較高濃度的地方擴散到血液較低濃度的地方,使紅血球可以帶着氧氣送到身體每個部份。

  • 清理

    完成實驗後,務必清理乾淨。擦去任何濺溢的水跡。將水倒入洗手盤裡,然後清洗玻璃樽。把食用色素放回原來的地方。

  • 探索更多

    在這個實驗中,在熱水和冷水中添加的食用色素溫度都相同。您認為食用色素的溫度會否影響擴散作用呢?把食用色素添加到水裡前,您能找到安全加熱或冷凍食用色素的方法嗎?您可以根據第一次實驗預測可能發生的變化嗎?

    另外,請想想您在哪些地方見過擴散作用發生。例如,為什麼咖啡和茶總是用熱水沖開的呢?如果找到一個使用熱水或冷水又關乎擴散作用的例子,您可試試用相反温度的水進行實驗,然後觀察結果是否有別。

  • 安全第一與成人監督

    • 請小心按照實驗說明進行操作。
    • 每個實驗應有負責監護的成年人協助。
    • 儘管在家裡進行科學實驗是令人興奮的學習和實踐科學的方法,但必須注意,有些實驗可能要求參與者採取額外的安全措施,以及/或者會把地方弄得髒亂。
    • 成年人應負責或協助處理可能有危險的材料或尖銳物品。
    • 在進行實驗前,成年人應檢視實驗內容,並決定學童的年齡是否適合參與該些活動。